absolutely free


Absolutely Free Press Photo credit Colin Medley.jpeg

Absolutely Free is the Toronto neo-psychedelic trio of Moshe Fisher-Rozenberg, Michael Claxton, and Matt King. Their sound is a neoteric journey through analog electronics, minimalism, world music, and krautrock.

The 2014 self-titled debut earned the band comparisons to Caribou, Tame Impala, and Broadcast, garnering accolades including a Polaris Music Prize nomination, and support from Pitchfork, Stereogum, Rolling Stone,CBC, Exclaim and more. Absolutely Free’s live shows are known for unparalleled sensory experience, a balance of transcendence and skill. The band's resumé of visual art and multimedia performances includes live holograms, multimedia art installations, and film score collaborations with Toronto International Film Festival and National Film Board of Canada. 2016 marked the band’s first full foray into soundtracks with their score for indie film Two Cares Due None, calling to mind the ambient electronic works of John Carpenter, Tangerine Dream, and Geoff Barrow. Absolutely Free marked the August 2017 solar eclipse with its cover of Frankie Valli’s “The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore.” The band is currently finishing its sophomore album produced by Jorge Elbrecht (Gang Gang Dance, Ariel Pink, Wild Nothing).